Spinsters Ink

The Palms - by PVII
The Palms - by PVII
Books by Julia Watts

by Julia Watts

Born in a dreary Kentucky coal camp during the Great Depression, Vestal Jenkins uses her one natural resource—her extraordinary beauty—as her ticket out of poverty.

Vestal's bawdy adventures include a brief period of religious piety, a loveless but lucrative marriage, an unsatisfactory stint as a shop girl and a financially rewarding foray into the world's oldest profession. This last venture leads Vestal to find her true profession—as the madam of the most notorious brothel in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Spanning decades, The Kind of Girl I Am humorously explores the changing sexual and social mores of the South and depicts an extraordinary woman's experiences of triumph, heartbreak, friendship and forbidden love.


Julia Watts

It is the fall semester of 1990, and three students - all with the first name of Elizabeth - are on the roll for Professor Angela Rivers’ Women in Literature course at William Blount University. Like so many college students, each of these “Elizabeths” is on a journey of self-discovery which will determine the course of the rest of her life.

With humor and heart, Women’s Studies follows one school year in the lives of these three young women and shows that in college, one’s extracurricular activities are often much more educational than what goes on in the classroom. Funny and romantic, sexy and insightful, Women’s Studies captures a time in women’s lives which is full of freedom, passion, and discovery.

Bookstores: Order Spinsters Ink titles
from Bella Distribution Services

A native of southeastern Kentucky, Julia Watts is the author of the novels Wildwood Flowers, Phases of the Moon, Piece of My Heart, Wedding Bell Blues, Mixed Blessings, and the Lambda Literary Award-winning Finding H.F.

Watts is a two-time recipient of grants from the Kentucky Foundation
for Women and recently completed an M.F.A. in Writing from Spalding University. She lives, writes and teaches in Knoxville, Tennessee.